“Farm”

"Farm" - watercolor landscape painting by Tony Conner

This small studio painting of a typically rural subject – farm, fields, silo. Titled simply “Farm”, it is a depiction of a farm in late summer. The light is low and maybe not as bright as it is in June. The fields are showing a good bit of brown and yellow as well as green as the season fades toward fall.

Much of my work lately has been done “en plein air” – on location. In a plein air painting, the focus is generally on “what is”. With studio work, like this little painting, the focus can be on “what could be or should be”. I’m often asked by people looking at my paintings if I can tell them where this place is. For plein air work it is easy to answer the question by just stating where I was when it was painted. For a studio work, my answer is usually that it is not a particular place, but a composition of shapes, colors and symbols that are placed together in such a way that it looks as if it is a real place. Such is the case with “Farm” – it only looks like a place that you remember…

This small work is my “Fresh Paint Auction” for October 29, 2013.  Click here to go to the auction.

Contact me if you have an interest in this or any other paintings on the site. Email me at mail@tonyconner.com or by phone at 802-375-5548.

Sign up form for my email list for News, Events, Exhibits & Classes

Find my artworks on Saatchi Online

Prints, cards and small originals available in my online Etsy store

facebook logo_small     Twitter logo    Follow Me on Pinterest    Google+

Leave a comment